Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation

SAMS » Portrait » Commissions » ECAE


The Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation (ECAE) is a body jointly operated by the SAMS and the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT). Its members are drawn from various disciplines – basic research, veterinary medicine, animal welfare, law and ethics.


The ECAE acts as an expert and advisory body in the area of animal experimentation and serves the goal of promoting ethically responsible, high-quality and scientifically meaningful research.


The commission does not lobby for animal experimentation, nor does it reject animal experimentation on ethical grounds. Rather, it strives to critically reflect on the current practices and to anticipate ethical concerns. It discusses the ethically challenging aspects and draws up position papers and recommendations. In addition, the commission examines the legal provisions in the field of animal experimentation and, if appropriate, comments on national and international regulations.


The ECAE is a platform for inter- and transdisciplinary as well as inter-institutional dialogue between relevant stakeholders. It also promotes this dialogue by means of symposia and expert round tables. Together with the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, the CEEA is committed to open dialogue on animal experimentation within the scope of STAAR – Swiss Transparency Agreement on Animal Research.


STAAR Declaration

More information on animal experiments




Prof. Hanno Würbel, Abteilung für Tierschutz, Vetsuisse-Fakultät, Universität Bern (chair)
Andrea Kern, MSc, SAMS, Bern (ex officio)
Dr. Charlotte E. Blattner, Institut für öffentliches Recht, Universität Bern
PhD Matthias Eggel, Inst. für Biomedizinische Ethik und Medizingeschichte, Universität Zürich
Dr. Gisèle Ferrand, Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Basel
Dr. Silvia Frey, Animalfree Research, Bern
Dr. med. vet. Simone Gilg, BLV, Abteilung Tiergesundheit und Tierschutz, Tierversuche, Bern
Prof. Michael O. Hottiger, Department of Molecular Mechanisms of Disease, University of Zurich
Prof. Daniel Huber, Department of Basic Neurosciences, Université de Genève
Prof. Angela Martin, Philosophisches Seminar, Universität Basel
Prof. Michael Schmid, Department of Neurosciences and Movement Sciences, Université de Fribourg
Dr. Michaela Thallmair, Tierschutzbeauftragte, Universität Zürich
Dr. Andrina Zbinden-Hauzenberger, Animal Welfare Officer, Université de Fribourg



Annual reports

The annual reports of the Ethics Committee for Animal Experimentation are available in German.




MSc Andrea Kern
Scientific Collaborator
Tel. +41 31 306 92 75