National MD-PhD Grants Program

The SAMS and the Swiss National Science Foundation, with the support of private foundations and in collaboration with the Swiss School of Public Health, award each year a limited number of competitive individual MD-PhD grants. The aim of the program is to equip medical doctors interested in research with the skills necessary for a career as clinician and scientist.

MD-PhD grants enable young physicians to complete a doctoral research training in natural sciences, public health sciences, clinical research or biomedical ethics at a Swiss university. Grants can be awarded for a minimum of 2 to a maximum of 3 years. The synopsis (see below) gives an overview of all grantees.


Participation requirements

Applicants must have successfully completed their studies in human, veterinary or dental medicine and be admitted as doctoral students in one of the local MD-PhD programs associated with the national grants program by the time of the grant start. They must have been residents of Switzerland for at least 2 years by the submission deadline. Complete participation requirements and evaluation criteria are described in the program regulations (revised in October 2022).


Evaluation procedure

The evaluation, based on the National MD-PhD grants program regulations, takes place in two phases: the first selection is made by the local MD-PhD Commissions associated with the national grants program. Preselected applicants are then evaluated by and invited to an interview with the National MD-PhD Evaluation Committee which makes a funding recommendation to the program funders.


Submission of applications

Applications, written in English using the SAMS application form, must be sent to the local MD-PhD commission at which the applicant is or intends to be matriculated as doctoral student. Contact details of the local commissions associated with the national grants program can be found here: Local MD-PhD Commissions.


Next submission deadline: 15 December 2022
Earliest start of the grant: 1 September 2023


Funders involved in the program

Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS)
Swiss Cancer Research (KFS)
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
Théodore Ott Fund (SAMS)


The Swiss School for Public Health provides ideational support to the national grants program.



Dr. Myriam Tapernoux
Head of Department
Tel. +41 31 306 92 76